Allan Bell reappointed as IOM Treasury Minister

 In Uncategorized

Tony Brown has been appointed as the new Chief Minister of the Isle of Man, succeeding Donald Gelling as the leader of the Island’s Government.

The new Chief Minister has chosen Allan Bell to continue as Treasury Minister after five years in the post which have seen the successful introduction of the Island’s zero tax strategy.

Mr Bell said: “I am delighted to be reappointed as Treasury Minister and look forward to working with our business community to further develop the Island’s vibrant, diverse economy. The Isle of Man has an impressive track record as a quality international jurisdiction but we certainly won’t be resting on our laurels as we face up to the challenges and opportunities ahead.”

The Isle of Man (population 80,000) is a British Crown Dependency and is internally independent, with its own parliament, government and laws. It is not part of the United Kingdom but the UK Government, on behalf of the Crown, is ultimately responsible for its international relations. The Island is not part of the European Union, with which it has a special and limited relationship.

Tynwald, the Manx Parliament, was founded by Norse settlers more than 1,000 years ago and is believed to be the oldest continuous parliament in the world. The Island has no party political system and the Chief Minister is elected by the 33-member Tynwald every five years following general elections to the House of Keys.

Contact Us

Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search